Let’s all pause for a moment to consider how most people must live.  Work 5 days.  Get 2 to yourself.  Then repeat. Every week of the year.  Is it just me, or does this ratio seem a bit off.  Personally, I’d rather not have the majority of my existence here spent working to live and living for the weekend.  

Don’t get me wrong, there are several benefits to working in an office environment.  The structure and collaboration can have great effects on productivity.  I don’t propose we through out the whole kit-and-kaboodle.  I just think its time that the thing got a facelift.  Just because it’s been this way since the industrial revolution doesn’t mean its the best way of doing the whole “work” thing.  

I mean, we have had a couple technological advances since then.

Tectonic Shifts in Employment

How Freelance Became the New 9-to-5 – Business – GOOD.

How I Became My Own Mentor in a Freelance Economy – News – GOOD.

The Great Transition

So why not imagine a work-week/life structure that just makes better sense?  What will yours look like and how will you get there?

2 thoughts on “hey work-week, catch up with the times

Leave a Reply

