thoughts on existence – part 2

What’s the end game here folks?  

To those who incessantly worry about high fructose syrups and red meats, I ask, are you trying to live forever?

To others who get up in the morning, hoping to turn 50 million into 80 million, I ask, what is it you wish to buy?

And to those ground down by life, I ask, are we here just to survive?

The following passage from E. M. Stinton’s If God Exists, reminds me of a conversation I had with the author himself:

now let’s think about it, given the cowards in the populace

the liars, killers, hypocrites…if God exists He’s part of all of it.

plus our heinous accomplishments scarred within our hollow skin

have we just forgotten Him? or is this a product of His martyrdom?

did He create us on a whim? 

In the 1940’s the world saw great minds converge on the Manhattan Project.  It’s a situation I see as somewhat similar to the convergence of great leaders –  the Washingtons and Franklins – marking the birth of the United States.  The point being that throughout time, great figures have coalesced and changed history.  By late 1945, some of history’s greatest scientific minds had come together and created what may be considered the most heinous accomplishment of man.

Here stood great men, powerful and intelligent.  Yet at the peak of their prowess and capacity, they were banded together for the purpose of destruction, not creation.  Despite his innate creative endowments, man produced the means to destroy his world several times over.  I find it ironic that centuries of scientific thought and development led to this.  The gift to destroy ourselves.

What enlightened beings we are!

So again, I ask, what is the end game of mankind?  What are we trying to accomplish with the fact of our existence?  Are we simply here to see how long it takes to destroy ourselves, or is there something more?

 If there’s a higher purpose, is it not something universal?  Must our gods be different? Regardless of religious or spiritual purpose, can’t we all agree that improving the world we hand to our children is a worthwhile endeavor?  And while many a war has been fought under the guise of bettering the world for posterity, I still wonder whether we humans are really doing our best to consider what it really is we want to accomplish here.    

Cynics may scoff and tell me why wars are necessary or how humans have no purpose, but I am too naive to believe.  True, there is much for me to learn, but I’m finding that reality is a funny thing.  It’s here, but doesn’t quite exist.  A thin line separates reality from our perception of it, but only from our perspective.  

So yes, my reality is really skewed, but so is your’s.  


6 thoughts on “thoughts on existence – part 2

  1. Interesting questions.
    I think it was Cromwell who said “Every army that ever went to war thinks that God is on their side. I’ll warrant God often wonders who is on his.” My view would be more cynical still: maybe God is the rallying call, the way we muster the troops, but maybe there’s no God to witness the carnage.
    Maybe you seek explanation where no explanation is necessary. Maybe there is no more purpose to life than life. Use KISS: no higher purpose is necessary to explain everything that we observe.

    1. Thank you. I love your quote: “A caveman may be forgiven for marveling at the sunrise and, in the absence of a better explanation, thanking a god. Isaac Newton explained planetary motion three hundred years ago but was unavailable for the caveman.” It says so much perfectly.

      I really like the thought of humans and earthly existence being some sort of massive experiment. Hey, let’s give these human characters just enough reason to get by, but not enough to stop them from making a total mess of things.

      I guess I’m looking less for a higher purpose to explain what I observe, and more for a collective purpose that could change what I observe. But then I guess I’m right back where I started; wrestling perception…

      Ben

  2. Hi Ben,
    The only thing I’m absolutely certain about is that we’ll never know.
    I’m sure you know the massive experiment idea was explored by Douglas Adams.
    thanks
    Rob.

Leave a Reply

